My Online Christian Magazine Interview – Pt. 2

Recently, I was interviewed by a Christian magazine regarding my life in Christ and the translation work that I have been involved with for over 17 years now. In this second article that includes portions of the questionnaire, I talk about my early dreams of being a missionary and how God used early experiences in my life to prepare me for overseas mission work. My prayer is that what I wrote will be a blessing to you, and be a testimony to the greatness of God who has empowered me to do His work.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Q3: Since when did you start having desires to commit yourself to translating Bible?

In my article, “God Spoke Through People”, I wrote about how three significant people influenced me during my teenage years to think about Bible translation. I also remember a discussion I had with another student when I was in Grade 12. He asked me, “Why would you want to be a missionary to another country and culture? Why not just leave them alone. If they never hear about Jesus in their language and culture, then God will be merciful and let them into Heaven because they were innocent and ignorant about your Gospel.”

This was quite a challenge to my faith, but I told him that I really believed what the Bible says, especially in John 14:6, Acts 4:12, Romans 3:22-24 and Romans 10:9-13. The problem as I saw it was that there were many people in the world who did not have this message written in their language yet, and so how could they ever really understand and respond to the Gospel Message unless someone helped to translate that message into the language of their hearts, their mother tongue language.

Q4: Before going abroad as a missionary, you and your family were on the road for quite a while, serving as pastor in some churches while taking different jobs in other places. Which were some of the most humbling/ insightful job experiences for you? How exactly did you see God working through your life? In what way have those experiences changed you compared to when you were young?

In my article series, “Who Am I?” the articles of #14-17 show how I went through three difficult pastoral positions in a row. First there was the year of church planting in Beaumont, Texas that was not able to get off the ground (and we experienced the death of our first child during pregnancy.)

Then the church in northern Alberta was rough, as the eldership was very tough on the pastoral staff. (I found out later that I was at least the third or the fourth pastor in about 10 years that the elders “had let go” for reasons that were not fully justified.) Then the church in Manitoba had key players that had no real desire to welcome newcomers and to grow, so I knew I could not stay in that environment very long.

I must say that there were some rough edges to my personality during this period though. I was still young, a bit arrogant and pushed for new ideas and change before the people were ready. Now as I look back, I can see that God had to reshape me as well, and he did that not through the church work as much as He did it through the other jobs that I took.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

While in Manitoba, I worked the night shift at a merchandise store (Canadian Tire), bringing new merchandise out of the back and restocking the shelves for the next day. It was quickly found out that I was a pastor of one of the churches in town, and they quickly gave me the nickname of “Reverend” or just “Rev.”

Some said this just to make fun of me, some said it with respect, but many of them would greet me when I came into the store by saying, “Hey Rev, how’s it going?” I do know that I was given more than my fair share of lowly jobs, and I believe that was because of me being a pastor. But through that period where I preached on Sundays, and then worked at night in that store, I learned a great deal more about humility and loving others who mistreated me.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

You may also want to read in more detail the “Who Am I? Part 16” (Aug. 6, 2011). For a year, the Lord had pulled me out of ministry as a means to help heal me from the wounds I had received from the previous churches where I had served. As I say in the article, when I worked on the construction project as a janitor, I literally crawled on my hands and knees up and down 18 flights of stairs for six months to strip off the floor wax and put on new floor wax.

It was during those six months that I drew very close to God in prayer and submitted myself to Him for Him to do with me what He wanted. The next year I was at a seminary in Illinois and that is where I found out about Pioneer Bible Translators, the mission which I have been a part of now for 17 years.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

 

