My Online Christian Magazine Interview – Pt. 1

 Recently, I was interviewed by a Christian magazine regarding my life in Christ and the translation work that I have been involved with for over 17 years now.  I would like to share in a few articles the questions that I was asked, and what answers I gave to the editor of that magazine.  My hope is that what I wrote will be a blessing to you, and be a testimony to the greatness of God who has empowered me to do His work.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Q1:  What kind of child were you and what did you dream of becoming at the time? How would you describe yourself as a young adult? Could you share one of the episodes in your early years that hint toward your future dedication to God?

Many people would describe me as a bright young child, and I was usually at the top of my class at school.  I was adventurous and independent from the time I was 11, always exploring the hills around Calgary where I grew up (a city of 3/4 million people), riding my bicycle for hundreds of miles inside and outside of the city.  I even loved to crawl through sewer tunnels.  (Read “Tunnels, Caves & Claustrophobia” )  I got into trouble with the police once, but that taught me the importance of honesty.  (Read “Caught by the Police” )

I was almost 12 when I first really heard the Gospel message about Christ at a big Youth Conference.  I had many questions, and then early in 1973 I was baptized and gave my life over to Jesus to be my Saviour and Lord.  (Read “For My Tears, Jesus Died” Nov. 18, 2010)  When I was 14, I heard a missionary speak at our church, and from that moment on, I felt that God was calling me to be a missionary myself one day. 

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Then when I was 16, I was in the Royal Canadian Reserve Navy for a year and the ship I was on docked in Lima, Peru.  I knew of a missionary family that our church supported and was allowed to go visit them for three days up in the mountains at Cuzco, Peru.  They were working at translating the Bible into the Quechua Indian language.  I was fascinated by this and knew that was what I wanted to do one day.  (Read “God Spoke Through People” to see how I was influenced to be a Bible translator)

To answer your question about an episode in my early years that showed my dedication to God, let me paste a paragraph from an article that was just published on Feb. 23, 2012.  This article called “Introducing Others to Jesus” is part of my Bible study article on John 1:35-42 where Andrew gets Peter and introduces him to Jesus.  Here is what happened for me in 1975:

“I still remember a special night in my life when I was about 14 years old and was still relatively new in my faith, only two years or so.  My parents took me on a weekend campout to attend one of their Square Dance rallies.  Some people brought their motor homes and campers; others put up large tents to sleep in.  The big dances for the adults were usually in the evenings, which left us kids free to hang out and have fun in the tents together.

Fairly early in the evening, one of the kids asked me something about me being a Christian, and I responded that yes, I did believe in Jesus and what the Bible had to say.  Well, this generated quite a few questions which I gladly answered.  If I wasn’t sure of the answer, I would take the time to search my Bible to find an appropriate answer.  This spontaneous evangelistic moment and small group Bible study went on through the night until about 3 a.m.  I had never felt as invigorated in my young spiritual life as I did during that night.”

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Q2: When was your first serious encounter with God? Was it the big conference that took place when you were 11, or sometime much later? Could you describe that special moment in details?

Let me expand on what I said above.  The article “For My Tears, Jesus Died” definitely tells about the beginning of God working in my heart.  I will add to that story here:

“Although there was much that was good about my childhood, in my elementary years (ages 6-11) I was not accepted by many other children (largely because I was so smart and liked to read books instead of going out to play sports) and I encountered many bullies who would beat me up.  My parents were busy, my other brothers were much older and not around in my school.  I felt very alone and in my childish perspective I thought that no one loved me.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

“And so in Grade 7, when I went to that Youth Conference, I was in the midst of over 500 young people, and yet I felt completely alone and unloved.  I had shed many tears over the physical and emotional beatings I had received from others around me.  Then I heard that song, that it was for my tears, my tears, that Jesus died.  WOW!!

“And so I thought, could there actually be Someone who really loved me?  And it was because of the truth about His love that I was drawn to God.  For almost 40 years now, I have known that love of God.  Even through all that we have experienced of difficult times, and the trials and tragedies of life, I have never doubted that God truly loves me.”

