Who Am I?  Part 26

And now for the final chapter.  This has been quite a journey.  We started together way back in January of this year, and now 12 months later I am ready to tell you how the story ends.  But wait, it’s not really the end, because I am believing that there are many more exciting years ahead of fruitful service for the Lord.

This topic of “Who Am I?” has been a series of snapshots of what has happened in my life from birth until the present moment.  There certainly have been lots of interesting events and winding trails in my life as I look back over the past 51 years.  There have been some truly awesome moments of breath-taking adventure, and there have been a number of mind-numbing “sloughs of despair”. One thing for sure, you cannot say that our lives have ever been dull.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

In many ways, it is quite appropriate I think that I am writing this last Saturday personal journey story on the night of Christmas Eve.  Over 2,000 years ago, while the world in stillness lay, the angels in heaven were holding their collective breathes as they waited in glorious anticipation of the Christ Child to be born.  From that moment on, the world would never be the same as the Messiah came from Heaven to live among us, teach us about God, and provide a way for men to be reconciled once again back to God.

Now please don’t read this wrong.  I am in no way trying to compare my life to the Life of Jesus who is my Lord.  Heaven forbid that I should ever dare to think so highly of myself.  No, I am just a fallible man as much as any other, and I count it as a sacred privilege to be called by God to serve Him in the mission work He has given me to do.  Rather, it is the idea of there being an air of expectation that I want to use as a catalyst for this final article in this personal series.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

As I look over my years of ministry for God, I almost feel like it could be compared to a grand symphony arrangement.  In a great music score, you have a flowing thematic harmony of many instruments that lead you along the main story line of the arrangement.  That is what my desire to be a missionary can be compared to, which has been a central part of my very being since I was a young teenager.

Then as the music continues, you find select instruments rise above the main melody.  There is excitement created by the violins, the darting whimsical nature of the wind instruments, the foreboding danger triggered by the beating of the drums.  All of these sounds carry you further into the story, raising you to new heights, and casting you down into deep dark corners of your mind.  That is what my many years can be compared to: one moment, a thrilling adventure, and the next moment, a heart-wrenching event that crushes the soul.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

 But wait.  The philharmonic evening has not been finished yet.  There is a pause, a moment of silence, the tinkle of the little silver triangle.  Then a murmuring beat from a drum, the cautious entrance of the violins, the pipes and the horns and the flutes are poised to join in to the chorus.  We can sense the excitement building as we realize that there are still some upbeat moments and great crescendos to come.

And that is pretty much where I think my life is right now.  I’ve crossed the desert, I’ve forded the river, I’ve scaled the mountain, and just around the bend I expect to see the fantastic vista to open up to me as I look ahead to the new adventures that still await me.  The message that I delivered in quite a few sermons to some of our supporting churches this past summer was, “God is not finished with us yet!”

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

What a great feeling that is.  Of course I know that God loves me and is always with me.  Then add to that the fact that God is still choosing to use me and work through me to impact peoples lives around the world.  He continues to give me strength for each day so that I can still be involved in Bible translation projects in Southeast Asia and Papua New Guinea.  This past four months, I have lived and  worked in Dallas and helped to teach new missionary recruits.  Two years ago, I thought my life of ministry was over and I was all used up.

And if that is not enough, God has opened up this blog outreach which my wife, Jill, aptly calls my “Armchair Ministry”.  Considering that I spend most of my day, every day, propped up in a recliner chair to relieve the pressure and pain in my legs, it is truly amazing how writing down my stories and insights into Scripture has become a blessing to thousands of people in countries around the world.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

And so now I have arrived at my “Today” of my life story.  Lord willing, I will have many more “todays” to live, and to serve my God, and to pass on my stories to others to tell of the wonders and majesty of my Lord and King.  As I think about all that God has done for me, and will continue to do for me and my family, there is only one adequate response to give back to God.  I praise my God, and offer back to Him the well-known Christian Doxology:

Praise God from Whom all blessings flow;
Praise Him all creatures here below.
Praise Him above ye heavenly hosts;
Praise Father, Son, and Holy Ghost.

Amen!

