Trust God to Meet Your Needs

This article will finish off our study on Strategy #6, “Trust God to Meet Your Needs”, that Mark Atteberry gives us in his book “Walking With God on the Road you Never Wanted to Travel“.  (You can click here to read the article on the first half of this chapter in the book.)

I believe that this may be one of the most important strategies to adopt for any of us who are caught walking along a difficult path in life.  We must believe that God can and will meet our needs.

Certainly there are plenty of Scriptures to back up this belief, aren’t there?  Let’s name a few:

  • And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 4:19)
  • And I will do whatever you ask in my name, so that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  You may ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it.”  (John 14:13-14)
  • Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete.”  (John 16:24)
  • Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.  For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.”  (Matthew 7:7-8)
  • So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them.  But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”  (Matthew 6:31-33)

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

These are just some of the verses that might come to mind for a Christian when we talk about God meeting our needs.  Notice that I do not say “wants”, but “needs”.  You can be sure that pretty much everyone would say that they want things which they think would be good for them.

Even if that is true, we still need to be careful to distinguish true needs from just our wants in life.  And when using Scriptures, we need to be careful not to take a verse out of its context and make it say something more than it is intended to say.

Take Philippians 4:19 and the two passages in John mentioned above.  I’ve seen people who have their “want” list and they quote these verses like a shopping list handed to God, with the expectation that of course God will grant them whatever they want.  (Oops, notice the word is “needs” and not “wants” in Philippians?)

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Looking at Philippians chapter 4 though, we see that the church in Philippi had been tremendously generous in how they had met the needs of Paul, whether that was material help or financial help.  And Paul is promising these believers that God notices the sacrificial giving of the people and that God will in turn repay their kindness.

And the passages in John, within their context, are referring to the disciples’ desire to understand who the Father was and Jesus’ words about Him having to leave them for a while.  They were lacking in spiritual knowledge and wisdom, but Jesus is promising to “fill the gap” of their understanding.  Thus Jesus says, “ask me for anything and I will do it.”

So let us put these three verses to the side, seeing as it is quite possible that there is more here than just us asking God to give us something.  Let us look at the Matthew verses.   Jesus’ words are pretty clear that God loves us even more than the best loving parent could, and as such, He will supply our basic needs in life and He also does desire to give us some good things in life.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

I have seen this to be very true for me in recent days.  Many of you know that I just came back from a week in Dallas where I helped teach the new missionary recruits who are interested in our mission.  The invitation has been given to me to move down to Dallas in August until December to teach more in-depth some linguistic courses to our new missionaries.

Due to my muscle disease, I told our office staff there that I could only live and work down there if I had a very comfortable chair.  In my situation, a comfy chair has become a necessity if I am to live and work with minimal pain.  And to get around the large campus, I have had to rent an electric scooter in the past.  So meeting these needs for one week would not be too difficult, but how about for 4 months?  Would God provide for my “needs” in order for me to do His work in Dallas?

Well….Praise God!!  He has once again shown that He can do “immeasurably more than I could ever ask or imagine” (Ephesians 3:20).  Not one, not two, but three comfy recliners have been made available for me to use in the Fall months.  Take a look at the picture of me enjoying this “gift from above”.

And regarding the scooter?  Guess what?  The company that has helped me in the past to rent from them had bad news; the competition has been so tough that they have gone out of business.  But before they did, they made a special offer to sell a very good used scooter for 1/5 the price of a new scooter.

If ever we have had doubts about me heading down to Dallas by myself to teach this Fall, this gift from above tells us that God definitely can and has met my needs.  And so I go forward by faith, and often, I find God is already there ahead of me.  Praise God for His goodness and His faithfulness.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

