Norm’s & Jill’s Love Songs

In any love relationship, there is one or more special moments that each person can look back at and say, “And that is how it all started.”  For any true and lasting love relationship there have to be some moments (which may be the same as the first ones mentioned) that define the relationship and say, “This is what we stand for, and nothing will make me break up this relationship.

When Jill and I got married in 1984, we told each other, “Divorce is not an option.”  We still believe that, but it is a strong statement put in a negative form.  When we want to say this truth to each other positively, we go back to the moments when we first started dating, until the day we got married, and we remember the words of our love songs that we gave to each other.

I wrote the first song when I wanted Jill to take a chance on a long term relationship with me.  Jill said yes to me, and then 7 months later she wrote a wedding song which she had pre-recorded and to which she came down the aisle to me.  The third song was sung by a good friend and has been the rock of truth that we have held on to all these years as we keep weathering frequent storms of life.  And the final song is the one that I sang to Jill at our reception.  You can click on the last two and hear them in You Tube.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

1.  “Why Don’t You Dance With Me?”

Norm Weatherhead to Jill MacKay – October 1983

CHORUS:

Why don’t you dance with me, take a chance on me
And then we’ll know if we can dance right through.
I may not know just every move but that is how we’ll grow as two;
So why not come on to the floor, I want to dance with you.

Just take my hand, I’ll lift you up as we walk onto that floor.
Don’t look on back at what we’ve done, I know we’ve tried before,
But there is still a chance that we can
Be a Tinkerbell and a Peter Pan;
So why not come on to the floor
I want to dance with you.

CHORUS

I’d like to dance right through the night but that we’ll never know.
Unless we give our very best, to see if we can go
O’er the problems and the obstacles
That often come our way;
I’d like to keep on dancing, oh please won’t you stay.

CHORUS

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

2.  “Jill’s Entry Song”

Jill MacKay to Norm Weatherhead May 11, 1984

In all the world I never knew just what God had in store.
He said he’d give his very best – and who could ask for more.
But never in my deepest dreams could I believe it true;
Yet here am I now walking to you.

You say you’ve loved me for some time you want me to share your life.
And that is why I come to you – I come to be your wife.
I want to give my life to you, to stay by your side,
And we will let the Lord be our guide.

I need to learn to submit to you, to give you all that I am.
And with your love and your help I know that I can.
For God has given me to you to love honour and obey;
It is His will, there is no other way.

And now we stand and pledge our love as a woman and a man.
“For these two shall become one”, this is God’s great plan.
I love you Norman and I pledge to love you all my life.
I am your friend, your partner, your wife.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

3.  Flesh of My Flesh

CHORUS:

You are flesh of my flesh
Bone of my bone;
There’s no one closer.
You are flesh of my flesh
Bone of my bone;
We are one.

I do pledge my life to you
Forever and always;
I will take good care of you
And shower you with praise.
Others try and separate us
But they don’t have a chance;
No one else can take your place
No not even one.

CHORUS

I do give my life to you
Today and everyday;
I will stand right by your side
Whatever comes our way.
I have searched and searched for someone
Who’d make my dreams come true;
Nowhere else on this earth
Is there anyone like you.

INSTRUMENTAL

The storms of life can blow and blow
But they won’t knock me down;
We’ll stand the test,
The test of time,
Cause we stand on Holy ground.

CHORUS

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

4.  This is the Day

This is the day that the Lord hath made and I’m so glad He made you.
With each rising sun you are here by my side, you are more than a dream come true.

Oh, to have you, to hold you, to love you, to pray
To share with, to care with, to hold hands and say:

This is the day that the Lord hath made and I will rejoice, I will rejoice,
I will rejoice with you.

This is the love that the Lord hath made that you and I we are one.
Love’s mystery is unfolding today, written for us in the Son.

Oh, for better, for worse, for rich or for poor,
Each day that pass – es I’ll love you more;

‘Cause this is the day that the Lord hath made and I will rejoice, I will rejoice
I will rejoice with you.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

I do hope that you enjoyed this musical montage.  But remember, these are not just words on paper that are to be sung once and then forgotten.  Contained within these words are heart felt messages of love and commitment to last a whole lifetime.  May you too experience what God has made real for us in our lives.

