Who Am I? Part 8

This is now the eighth part in a 26 part series that I have wanted to share with all my readers.  That might sound like a lot of articles, but then I am trying to write out the highlights and key moments of my 50 year life span.  And this article is going to be a special one, as it marks a truly pivotal moment of my life, the decision of who I would marry.  The only other moment that was more important than this was when I was ready to turn my life over to God.  You can read that in the article, “For My Tears, Jesus Died.”

Everything else in my life up to this moment was a period of learning and growing and getting ready for this major life-changing decision.  Sort of like Paul says in 1 Corinthians chapter 13, I was going to change from being a child to becoming a man.  For a very long time, it was clear to me and to others that I would be wanting to find the right woman who would marry me.

In fact, I think you might say that I was chasing women from a very young age.  I can still remember the day in Grade Two that I was sent home early from school with a note from the principal to my parents.  I thought it was great that I got to go home early.  But I must say that my parents were not too thrilled to get this note from the principal which read:

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Weatherhead,

I regret that I have had to pull your son out of school today and have sent him home with this letter.  I would like it very much if you could sit down with your son and talk to him about his behavior while at school.  Please tell your son that it is not appropriate for him to run after girls during recess, to tackle them down and try to kiss them.  Your help in this matter would be most appreciated.

Sincerely,

The Principal

Now thinking back to that moment in Grade Two, I remember going home with the note.  But I don’t remember if I got scolded and disciplined by my parents or not.  Gee, maybe my Dad even congratulated me for taking the initiative in developing male/female relationships.  (LOL)  Just kidding.  All I can say is that I took a healthy interest in girls at a very young age.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Skipping ahead over many years, and many more interesting/funny/embarrassing stories which will have to wait for future articles, let me bring you up to the time that I was starting to date Jill.  You may remember the prophetic and funny statement my grandmother said to us, “My little Norman usually walks about three feet off the ground, and Jill, you walk about three feet under ground.  But as long as you two keep on holding on to each other, you will be fine.”

Actually, when Grandma said this, neither of us thought about being too serious at that time.  But God seemed to smile on our relationship and a short dating period (50 days) led to a short engagement period (5 months), and on May 11, 1984, we pledged our love to each other.  And as you can see from the picture below, we were on top of the world that day.

Now let me back up just a bit to give our story a little more context.  Even though our dating period was short, as I mentioned, we had in fact known each other for more than three years.  Jill had been a room-and-board person at my parents house for parts of 1979 – 1983.  She had become part of our family long before she married into our family.

So were we friends forever who finally got married?  Actually, no.  After I got home from my year serving with Teen Missions (read about that year here), I found that “some strange woman” had taken over my bedroom and I was relegated to the dusty basement room.  😦  Needless to say, I was not too impressed, nor happy about the arrangement.  And so I first got to know Jill as a rival in the family, someone to compete against, not someone to want to date or even marry.

But again, God did some interesting heart adjustments for both of us.  I thought I knew what I was looking for in a wife, but now that I look back, I know that I was being influenced by my culture.  It really is difficult these days not to be influenced by the bombardment we get through the media, modern advertising and such dominant cultural centers such as Hollywood.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

But thankfully, Jill stepped in twice to give me a subtle suggestion that the girl I thought I was interested in was really not a good match for me.  But being a guy, of course I missed the subtle cues.  (There are lots more to the stories, and I’m sure you’d love to hear them one day.)  But then Jill asked me one day if maybe there might ever be a chance that the two of us might want to date.

Well, then it really hit me.  Even though Jill and I had lived in my parent’s house together and squabbled like a brother and sister might at times, there was a common bond that kept us interested in each other.  Both of us had wanted to serve the Lord on the mission field one day.  And so we talked the same language: missions and missionary lives.

So finally, after 3 1/2 years of missed opportunities, Jill and I saw that in fact we would be a good match together.  And so I was able to realize what the writer had to say in Proverbs 18:22, “He who finds a wife finds what is good and receives favor from the Lord.”  And guess what?  I can still say after 27 years, that it was the right decision.

(Our 25th Anniversary Cruise Celebration)

