The following devotion comes from my email subscription to

Connection! Devotions for Every Day Life“.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

A Pervasive Prayer Strategy

Becoming a house of prayer is far more than adding a prayer meeting to an already hectic church calendar. It is a church in which prayer has become pervasive in all aspects of church life. Leaders and members of the congregation cannot imagine prayer not being a part of everything they do.

This will not happen automatically. It must be an intentional decision made first by leaders and then carried out systematically in the life of the church. There can be a basic church-wide accountability system in which, for every proposal made or program initiated, the question is asked, “Where is prayer in this?”

The local congregation that begins to move toward becoming a house of prayer is changing more than methods and techniques. It is honoring the Lord by turning to Him first and by depending upon His power and might released through prayer. There is a spiritual dynamic that is unleashed within the body that cannot happen in any other way than through God’s people bringing everything to the Lord in prayer.

–Adapted from Giving Ourselves to Prayer: An Acts 6:4 Primer for Ministry (Chapter 44, How to Build a House of Prayer by David Butts). Click on the title for more information about this resource.

Lamb of God, teach my congregation to become a house of prayer and pour out Your power in our midst. Show us how to infuse every aspect of the life of our church with world-changing intercession! Fill our leaders to overflowing with wisdom and discernment as they focus upon prayer and the ministry of the Word.

May we stop our strategic planning to win the lost through our own programs and committees and instead become dependent upon the leading of Your Spirit. We long to do nothing apart from You as You build us into a true and faithful house of prayer for all nations!

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

This devotional thought prompted a number of my own thoughts about my own prayer life.   And there are  some things happening right now that show me how timely this devotion is.  Which really shouldn’t be very surprising.  I have found time and time again, that the voice of God is not some loud and dramatic event, but rather He is found in the quiet things, the times when circumstances and a portion of His Word seem to come together at just the right time.

No, for me, I have seen that what many people would write off as being simply “coincidental”, is in fact a sure sign that God’s hand is in our affairs.  As they say, “It’s all in the timing”.  God is never early, nor is He ever late, He is always right on time for getting accomplished what He wants done.  The question is whether or not we have our spiritual antennas up so that our eyes truly see and our ears truly hear what God is telling us to do.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

For me, I have been feeling a desire within my soul to become more of a man of prayer.  For too long I have had my eyes fixed upon myself and my health issues, and the more I did this, the smaller, the weaker and the more defeated I felt.  Then God used some people in my life to prompt me to start this blog.  At first it began as a means to tell my story to others, which has been fun and therapeutic to my soul.  But it wasn’t long before it became something else.

As I would begin to think about what to write, God would impress upon me the need to write stories that would be of great encouragement to others, to be a real blessing to people who needed a boost for the day.  And so I began to pray more about this each day, and throughout each day.  And I find now that there are days that I don’t know what to write about, but God shows me something and I just know He has someone in mind that is needing to hear this story.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

The next thing the Lord has done to open me up to deeper praying is He led me to discover an online prayer group called Great Commission Ministries.  Actually, one of my FB friends added me to the group, and then I found out what the group was all about.  And I quickly saw that this group of Christians is really serious about praying “in all seasons for all things”.

And so I find myself every day being in a prayerful attitude both about what I can write to encourage another person, and I carry in my heart the needs of those whom I have read about on GCM’s Facebook page.  I had no idea four months ago when I started asking God, “How can I make prayer more of a daily reality and priority?” that He would open these two doors of ministry that I can do right from my living room armchair.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

As I am beginning to discover, prayer is not an activity that we mark down as a scheduled event in our day timer.  Now don’t misunderstand me, there is a great need to set aside group prayer time on a regular basis.  But prayer needs to become the air we breathe, shaping every thought that our mind thinks, and an attitude that prompts us to speak with our Father in every situation we encounter.

So how about you my friend, is it time for you too to pursue a lifestyle of pervasive prayer?  I pray that you will, and I really mean that.  May God bless you as you walk in faith with Him.  Amen.

