What do the Scriptures say?

It is the tradition of many people to make “New Year’s Resolutions” on January 1st each year.  These commitments or pledges are often made with very good intentions.  But for many people, it seems that whatever they had promised to do, or not to do, it isn’t long before they have broken that promise.  And thus, their resolve to do good or to not do something bad gets eaten away and the next year ends up looking a lot like the previous year.

It is because of this rather normal human tendency that I have not made New Year’s resolutions as a general rule.  But this year, I want to try my very best to make and to hold to a good commitment.  I want to be able to make and to hold to a promise.  But I’m going to ask for your help to do what I have in mind.  I am going to turn to my readers to keep me on track.

What is prompting my thought is my reflection on Acts 17:11.  This verse says:

Now the Bereans were of more noble character than the Thessalonians, for they received the message with great eagerness and examined the Scriptures every day to see if what Paul said was true.

It is my desire to study Scriptures on a regular basis, and to reflect on the truth and the application of these Bible passages.  Then, I want to be able to share them with you, my audience.  I have always found over the years, that the Bible comes more alive when you study Scripture and then seek to share what you have learned with someone else.  Just ask any preacher, Sunday School teacher or leader of a small group Bible study, and they will say the same thing.

I have had a number of opportunities to share with all of you what I have called “Bible Truth Nuggets”.  As God gives me insight into a passage or a verse, often a story or an application will come with that, and so I write it down and share it with you.  And I am glad to be able to share these things with you.  But what I write about might not hit home with you at the time I write an article because you may be in a different place in life than I am.

What I want to do, is to try to match my study of Scriptures with where you are at in your lives.  There might be a verse or passage that you wished you understood better, or might have a question as to what it means or how it applies to your life.  It’s possible that if you were to write to me about your questions or thoughts on God and His Word, that the Spirit could guide me to give you a good response that would be helpful for you at the very time that you need it.

So my proposal and my resolution is this:

Ask me a question, and I will find out what the Bible has to say about it.

I have no idea if some, or any, or none of you at this time have a question that you would like me to research to see what God’s Word says regarding your thought or question.  But it is my desire to make “The Listening Post” a place where we can dialog together and with each other discover more about what God is trying to tell us.

In other words, “The Listening Post” is meant to be a place where I listen to you and you listen to me, but most importantly, we all listen to God.  These articles will naturally be more “my stories” which I share with you.  But if you will take me up on my challenge, then what I write and share with you can be guided by the questions and thoughts you have for me.  And I will always keep it confidential as to who wrote the question.  And I will not divulge details that in any way would compromise your anonymity.

To get in touch with me, all you need to do is to look up my name in Facebook.  Even if you are not on my Friend list, you can still send me a message.

I look forward to hearing from many of you over the months that lie ahead of us in 2011.  Remember, we are all in this journey together.

As one of His servants,

Norm Weatherhead

