John 14:1-14

1“Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me. There is more than enough room in my Father’s home. If this were not so, would I have told you that I am going to prepare a place for you? When everything is ready, I will come and get you, so that you will always be with me where I am. And you know the way to where I am going.”

“No, we don’t know, Lord,” Thomas said. “We have no idea where you are going, so how can we know the way?”

Jesus told him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one can come to the Father except through me. If you had really known me, you would know who my Father is. From now on, you do know him and have seen him!”

Philip said, “Lord, show us the Father, and we will be satisfied.”

                                

One of the wrong opinions about God is that there is only a limited amount of God and His blessings available to all people.  This idea has come in many forms.   The most obvious way is when a new religion (or even an old one) preaches the message that “there will only be a select few chosen who will get to Heaven (or Paradise), so make sure you are one of the ‘chosen ones'”.  And of course what they mean is, “Be obedient to what we tell you to do and you might be one of the fortunate ones.”

Many cults have been born out of this thinking.  And some of the world religions are not that different from this kind of teaching.  But when you boil it all down to the basics, these people are all preaching some kind of “works” salvation, which tells you all the rules and rituals you need to follow to be accepted by God into Heaven.

    

Unfortunately, I have met many Christians who also have a limited view of God.  They think of God and His blessings as being like a pie.  They say that there is a limit to God’s riches for us, so get what you can, or just accept that you didn’t get a bigger piece of the pie.  But this is just as far away from the truth as some of these cultic groups and their teachings.

Jesus said earlier in John’s Gospel, But those who drink the water I give will never be thirsty again. It becomes a fresh, bubbling spring within them, giving them eternal life.”  When we are a believer in Jesus, we can be refreshed and renewed every day in our spirits, and all who “drink of Jesus” will be granted eternal life.  That is why He is able to say in our passage today, “There is more than enough room in my Father’s home.”  All of us can go to be with Jesus and the Father in Heaven.

                                

Jesus replied, “Have I been with you all this time, Philip, and yet you still don’t know who I am? Anyone who has seen me has seen the Father! So why are you asking me to show him to you? 10 Don’t you believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me? The words I speak are not my own, but my Father who lives in me does his work through me. 11 Just believe that I am in the Father and the Father is in me. Or at least believe because of the work you have seen me do.

12 “I tell you the truth, anyone who believes in me will do the same works I have done, and even greater works, because I am going to be with the Father. 13 You can ask for anything in my name, and I will do it, so that the Son can bring glory to the Father. 14 Yes, ask me for anything in my name, and I will do it!

                                

It must have been very frustrating for Jesus to have shared His life so intimately with His 12 disciples, and yet they still understood so little about Him on that night before He was to be crucified.  And I wonder if Jesus gets frustrated with many of us today, who have so many more resources available to us so that we can understand who He is, and what our role is to be within the Kingdom work being done right now here on earth.

When Jesus came to live among people, He revealed the very heart of God the Father to mankind.  And Jesus showed us all the kind of spiritual power and authority that is available to those who are the children of God.  What an amazing concept, to think that we as believers today could also perform the same kind of miracles that Jesus did, and even greater ones.  That is, if we truly have learned who God is, and what He can do in us and through us.

We must remember though, that miracles are not meant to draw attraction to themselves.  No, Jesus never performed miracles just so people could see miracles, or even to bring attention to Himself.  No, the miracles of God are always meant to bring people to a faith in God, and in His Son, Jesus.  That was true back then, and needs to be true still for us today.

As Matthew 5:16 so aptly put it, “In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

enw_gospelofjohn_black2

* If this article has been helpful to you and a blessing, please share it and invite your friends to come visit this devotional blog site.

