In an ideal day, you get up in the morning after a refreshing night of sleep.  In a relaxed but efficient way, you enjoy a nice hot breakfast with juice, and coffee for those who drink it.  Then you probably get into your car and drive yourself to work along well paved roads.  Your sense of peace and purpose may be challenges by rush hour traffic and rude drivers, and your immediate concern may simply be, “Will I get that parking space I want when I get to the office.”

It would be nice if life were that easy for all of us.  Certainly this idyllic life is probably not the norm for most people, seeing as we always seem to be rushing too much to get somewhere to do something.  And of course there are many normal but stressful aspects to daily living that all of us must deal with in life.  For those of us who work in overseas mission ministries, an average working day often carries a much higher level of stress and challenges.

Above is a picture taken from inside the Missionary Aviation Fellowship (MAF) hangar in Madang, Papua New Guinea.  One of our missionaries there who works in the area of Logistics shared the story below about the day that she was to meet an incoming flight that brought some other missionaries to town, and send out a missionary and some important cargo to one of our bush allocations.  I was one of the missionaries coming in that day and didn’t know at first why we waited over an hour for our colleague to show up.  Read her story…

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

Branch Vehicle Struggles

By Bethaney Butler

After a few sputters, the engine died and there I sat in PBT’s Toyota Hi-Ace, in the middle of a humongous pothole, while smoke filled the interior of the van and raindrops pelted the outside.  “Just another day in paradise,” I thought.

I was only a few hundred feet from my destination.  I had a van full of cargo that needed to get on the plane, which had already landed.  I had passengers who arrived on the flight and were awaiting pickup. Plane days generally boil down to one word in my mind: chaos.

The commotion had begun earlier that day.  I received a short notice call from MAF letting me know that the plane would be there shortly, so I needed to make my way to the airport. I had planned on loading all the cargo into the back of the Toyota Hilux, PBT’s most reliable vehicle.  Just before I was to start loading it began to rain. I quickly switched plans, taking our most unreliable vehicle, but the only one that could get all of the cargo there dry.

I eventually managed to make it to the airport but only after two other cars came to my aid—one to transport the cargo and then another to tow the van. Living in Papua New Guinea, there are already a number of challenges that we face in our days, having unreliable vehicles only adds to the frustration.  The PNG Branch is in need of some new vehicles.  Vehicles that are trustworthy and reliable. Vehicles that make those challenging days, just a tad easier.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

[Editor’s Note: another PBT colleagues of ours also has written briefly about how bad our vehicle situation is in our PNG Branch.  The picture below makes it look like the Hi Ace is a great vehicle, but read what my friend has to say about it.]

Right now we are at an exciting time as new team members are joining our branch. We have one family with two young children and one single female coming as translators this coming January. God is answering our prayer for more harvest workers! Like your vehicle is important to you, it is doubly important to us as overseas missionaries.

One area of high concern is security and trustworthiness. With many single females on our team, it is an extreme concern to them to have a secure and trusty vehicle. Driving past dark in a vehicle that you can’t trust is a very stressful situation for anyone in a foreign developing country. The vehicle featured was a recent branch owned vehicle that had transmission issues, battery drainage, and mold on the seats and ceiling.

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

In light of all this, I thought it would be appropriate to raise the following question with all of those who read my devotional articles on this blog site:

Would you consider giving to the replacement of one of our vehicles?

If you would like to donate, you can do so online or by check.

Online:

https://dlq4.donatelinq.net/qv10/default.aspx?MerchantID=PBTI
Click: Give Now button
Select category: Within Our Reach Campaign
Select sub category: PNG Vehicle

Give by check:

PBT Finance Office
PO Box 380820
Duncanville, TX 75138-0820

Note: PNG Project—Vehicle Replacement Fund

For more information contact: finance@pioneerbible.org.pg

♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦          ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦ ♦

This is the first time that I have made any kind of financial appeal on this site.  But I feel this one is very timely and appropriate.  We are trying our very best to do the work that God has called us to do over in Papua New Guinea.  But without reliable vehicles, our work quite literally grinds to a halt.

If God does lead you to help us out, would you mind replying to this article in the response area below and let me know about it?  Your comment will not be posted to be seen by anyone else.  But it would be such a great encouragement to me if I were to hear back from some of you.  May God bless you abundantly through Jesus our Lord.

